An update about Horizon Europe Associated Countries

Horizon Europe is the key funding programme for Research and Innovation of the EU. It has a budget of €95.5 billion and runs until 2027. It tackles climate change, helps to achieve the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals and boosts the EU’s competitiveness and growth.

Third countries can associate themselves to Horizon Europe and participate under equivalent conditions as EU Member States, unless specific limitations or conditions are laid down in the work programme and/or call/topic text.

As of 20 June 2022, Albania, Armenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, the Faroe Islands, Georgia, Iceland, Israel, Kosovo, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Norway, Serbia, Tunisia, Turkey and Ukraine have applicable association agreements in place.

Regarding the United Kingdom, in January the government announced that the UK will associate to Horizon Europe. The EU is still in the process of formalising the UK’s association, but UK-based applicants can begin applying straight away. You do not need to wait for the EU to formalise association. Find out more in the European Commission Q&A on the UK’s participation in Horizon Europe.

Switzerland was associated with previous EU framework programmes for Research and Innovation. Switzerland's association to Horizon Europe and related programmes and initiatives as soon as possible remains the Federal Council's declared goal. However, as of June 2020, Switzerland is considered a non-associated country.

Association negotiations with Morocco continue. The exploratory talks with the Republic of Korea are progressing, as well as those with Japan. Exploratory talks with Canada and New Zealand have been finalized.