The Human Frontier Science Program (HFSP) Research Grants

Categories: News

Tags: HSFP

The Human Frontier Science Program (HFSP) supports novel, innovative and interdisciplinary basic research focused on the complex mechanisms of living organisms. Research Grants are awarded for novel, ground-breaking collaborations involving extensive collaboration among teams of scientists working in different countries and in different disciplines. Two types of grants are available: Young Investigators Grants and Program Grants.
The Principal Applicant representing the international team must be located in one of the member countries, but participants can be
located in any country. Young scientists from anywhere in the world may apply for a fellowship to work in a laboratory in one of the supporting countries. A scientist from one of the member countries can apply to work anywhere in the world.
Application deadline: 19 March 2018

The Human Frontier Science Program is a program of funding for frontier research in the life sciences. It is implemented by the International Human Frontier Science Program Organization (HFSPO) with its office in Strasbourg.

For information about the funding programs Funding;

for information about the awarded Grants, Fellowships and Career Development Awards see Awardees.

For information about the publications and activities of the awardees and for other information concerning international and frontier science, see Frontier Science.

If you are a current or former awardee or member of the HFSP Board of Trustees, Council of Scientists, Review Committees or Secretariat, you may join the alumni network under "Alumni".


The members of the HFSPO, the so-called Management Supporting Parties (MSPs) are the contributing countries and the European Union, which contributes on behalf of the non-G7 EU members.

The current MSPs are Australia, Canada, France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Norway, New Zealand, Singapore, Switzerland the United Kingdom, the United States of America and the European Union.