28/11/2021

EUROPEAN RESEARCH DAYS - European Researchers in Japan: Achievements and Opportunities

Topics: event | Events


  • START DATE
    07/12/2021 - 17:00
  • LOCATION
    Japan, Tokyo
  • END DATE
    09/12/2021 - 19:00
  • ORGANISER
    EURAXESS Japan

The European Research Days are annual flagship events of EURAXESS Japan. These three webinars are for you if you are interested in:

- multidisciplinary research

- work and research in Japan

- first-hand testimonies from European researchers about their Japanese institutions

- European research organizations in Japan

- outline and mapping of the overall research scene in Japan

 

IN COLLABORATION WITH:

Sciencescope, The French Students and Researchers Organization in Japan

The Association of Spanish Researchers in Japan (ACE Japon)

Association of Italian Researchers in Japan (AIRJ)

German JSPS Alumni Association (JSPS Club)

 

AGENDA

 

TIME

DAY I.: Tuesday, 7th December

 

REGISTER FOR Day One

DAY ONE POSTER

09:00 – 09:01CET

17:00 – 17:01JST

INTRODUCTION

 

Judit Erika Magyar

Country Representative

EURAXESS Japan

 

09:01 – 09:05CET

17:01 – 17:05JST

OPENING SPEECH

 

Nienke Buismann

Head of Unit

DG for Research & Innovation

European Commission

 

09:05 – 10:25CET

17:05 – 18:25JST

RESEARCHER PRESENTATIONS

 

"Polyglycerol Functionalized Boron Carbide Nanoparticle for Boron Neutron Capture Therapy and Cancer Treatment"

Giacomo Reina

JSPS Postdoctoral Researcher

Graduate School of Human and environmental Studies

Kyoto University

 

"Nanostructured Oxide Thin Films for Energy Transport and Harvesting"

Paolo Mele

Professor

Shibaura Institute of Technology (Tokyo)

 

"Understanding Interaction and Entanglements Between Japan and the Arctic"

Juha Saunavaara

Assistant Professor

Arctic Research Center

Hokkaido University

 

"Parent Support Programme and Group-based Early Intervention for Toddlers with Developmental Disabilities (DD)"

Gabor Toth

Professor

Sagami Women’s University

Graduate School of Medicine

Yokohama City University

 

"Managing Text Data"

Dominik Köppl

Assistant Professor

Tokyo Medical and Dental University

 

10:25 – 10:45CET

18:25 – 18:45JST

 

Q&A and Roundtable

10:45 – 11:00CET

18:45 – 19:00JST

 

CLOSING SPEECH

 

Heinrich Menkhaus

Chairman

German JSPS Alumni Association (JSPS Club)

Chair for German Law

Faculty and Graduate School of Law

Meiji University

 

 

 

TIME

DAY II. : Wednesday, 8th December

 

REGISTER FOR DAY TWO

DAY TWO POSTER

09:00 – 09:01CET

17:00 – 17:01JST

INTRODUCTION

 

Tatsuya Maisawa

Country Representative

EURAXESS Japan

 

09:01 – 09:05CET

17:01 – 17:05JST

OPENING SPEECH

 

Efthymios Sakellariou

Policy Officer

DG for Research & Innovation

European Commission

 

09:05 – 10:25CET

17:05 – 18:25JST

RESEARCHER PRESENTATIONS

 

“Challenges of Writing on Japan - From Anthropology to Fiction”

Raluca Nagy

Part-time Lecturer

Hokkaido University

 

“Food Education and Culinary Politics in Japan”

Stephanie Assmann-Terada

Professor

University of Hyogo

 

“Building voice technologies in Japan”

Bartosz Ziolko

CEO

Techmo

 

“Genomics and transcriptomics at the RIKEN Center for Integrative Medical Sciences”

Michiel de Hoon

Team Leader

RIKEN Center for Integrative Medical Sciences

 

Nanomaterials for biosensing and medical diagnosis”

Pablo Martinez Pancorbo

JSPS Postdoctoral Fellow

The University of Tokyo

 

10:25 – 10:45CET

18:25 – 18:45JST

 

Q&A and Roundtable

 

10:45 – 11:00CET

18:45 – 19:00JST

CLOSING SPEECH

 

Raquel Simancas

President

The Association of Spanish Researchers in Japan (ACE Japon)

Project Researcher

University of Tokyo

 

 

TIME

DAY III. : Thursday, 9th December

 

REGISTER FOR DAY THREE

DAY THREE POSTER

09:00 – 09:01CET

17:00 – 17:01JST

INTRODUCTION

 

Judit Erika Magyar

Country Representative

EURAXESS Japan

 

09:01 – 09:15CET

17:01 – 17:15JST

OPENING SPEECH

 

Marco Pellegrini

Secretary

Association of Italian Researchers in Japan (AIRJ)

Assistant Professor

Nuclear Engineering and Management

The University of Tokyo

 

09:15 – 10:20CET

17:15 – 18:20JST

RESEARCHER PRESENTATIONS

 

“Living with Covid-19 in Japan: Early perceptions, experiences and adaptations”

Sébastien Penmellen Boret

Associate Professor

International Institute of Disaster Science (IRIDeS)

Tohoku University

 

“Sustainable Development Goals, Strategic and Synergic Collaborations Europe – Japan”

Nataly Carolina Rosero Navarro

Assistant Professor

Hokkaido University

 

"Enjoy Our 'Safe' Flight: Sarcasm, Emphasis and Quotation Marks in Japanese and English."

Bartosz Piotr Wolanski

Assistant Professor

Faculty of Arts and Science

Kyushu University

 

"Japanese Foreign Policy in the Western Balkans: Three Dynamics of Nonmilitary Involvement During Stabilization Process (1989-2004)"

Marcela Peric

PhD candidate

Keio University

Part-time Research Assistant

JICA Ogata Sadako Research Institute for Peace and Development

 

10:20 – 10:45CET

18:20 – 18:45JST

 

Q&A and Roundtable

 

10:45 – 11:00CET

18:45 – 19:00JST

CLOSING SPEECH

 

Thomas Silverston

Sciencescope, The French Students and Researchers Organization in Japan

Associate Professor

Shibaura Institute of Technology