KESS2 PhD in Mathematics: Improving usability and acceptability of mobile health applications for congestive heart failure patients

Save to favorites

    Cardiff University
    United Kingdom
    Professions and applied sciences
    First Stage Researcher (R1) (Up to the point of PhD)


Congestive Heart Failure (CHF) is a major chronic condition characterised by the inability of the heart to pump sufficient blood through the body.

According to the British Heart Foundation and Stats Wales, 32,000 people live with heart failure in Wales and more than 500,000 people in the UK.

In the UK, up to £11 billion is spent each year relating to cardiovascular diseases, which is expected to increase substantially not only in the UK but also in other countries such as the US. CHF readmissions is one of the major contributors to this burgeoning cost. Readmissions, defined as a subsequent hospital admission within 30 days following an original admission, has become a major burden on the many healthcare systems.

Knowledge Economy Skills Scholarships 2 (KESS2) is a pan-Wales higher-level skills initiative led by Bangor University on behalf of the Higher Education sector in Wales.

What is funded

Full UK/EU tuition fees and Doctoral stipend matching UK Research Council National Minimum.


3 years


UK Research Council eligibility conditions apply

You are expected to have one or both of the following:

  • a first degree, normally with class 2:1 or higher, or equivalent in a relevant subject
  • a relevant Master's qualification or equivalent.

Applicants must:

  • have a home or work address in the West Wales and the Valleys region at the time of their application for KESS funding and their enrolment for the course of study
  • have a legal right to live and work in the UK for the duration of the KESS2 support, and the right to take up paid work in the WWV region on completion of the scholarship
  • be classified as a ‘home’ or ‘EU’ student.

The Convergence area covers West Wales and the Valleys, and is made up of the following 15 local authorities:

  • Isle of Anglesey
  • Gwynedd
  • Conwy
  • Denbighshire
  • Ceredigion
  • Pembrokeshire
  • Carmarthenshire
  • Swansea
  • Neath Port Talbot
  • Bridgend
  • Rhondda Cynon Taf
  • Merthyr Tydfil
  • Caerphilly
  • Blaenau Gwent
  • Torfaen.

Applicants must also be prepared to provide proof of identity and income as part of the stipend assessment process. Further details are available from the KESS2 Office.